Categories
2021 Christmas Family Motherhood Toddler

Our Family’s Christmas Bucket List

It is Christmas time! I think it is absolutely crazy how fast that this year has flown by. This Christmas, we have a two and a half year old (JJ) and a one month old (Diego) so making this Christmas magical is so important to me. Baby Diego will not remember this Christmas whatsoever, but I feel like this is JJ’s first Christmas that he is really understanding the concept of Christmas so I plan on doing as many fun things with him as possible! It is also super fun because having kids and seeing the joy that our son finds in the little things really puts the magic back into Christmas for us. Since I am in such a Christmas mood, I decided to jot down some really fun and simple activities that I plan on doing with my family this year! Hopefully it will inspire all of you to get into the Christmas spirit as well!

Bake Christmas treats

From Christmas cookies to yummy pumpkin pies, I am hoping to find time to make some sweet treats with my family during this Christmas season! I think it would be so much fun to let my 2 year old decorate sugar cookies as well!

Drive around to see Christmas lights

Driving around to see Christmas lights is something that we have already started enjoying with JJ! We live near several neighborhoods that have most houses decorated for the holidays, and if we are already driving by we like to point out all of the lights to him! Seeing his face light up is priceless! I love hearing him say, “Look! There’s another one!” His excitement makes me feel like a kid again.

Listen to Christmas music

I love Christmas music because I grew up listening to it, and I usually know all of the words! Obnoxiously singing Christmas songs to my husband in the car is one of my favorite Christmas activities! Haha!

Watch Christmas movies

I LOVE Christmas movies. I will watch anything from the old classics like Frosty the Snowman to the new Netflix originals like Let it Snow (it has mature content, but it’s pretty funny)! I do have to admit though, Elf is my all time favorite! Will Ferrel is hilarious. I hope to watch as many Christmas movies as I can this year!

Decorate the house

Other than a string of lights and a sign that says “Merry and Bright,” my house is pretty plain. With a wild toddler and limited space, I may leave it to the professionals, but I hope to find a few more small festive items to hang up! I hope to get a Christmas tree when the boys get a little older and can help me decorate it.

Make gingerbread houses

I have been thinking about buying a gingerbread house for my little family as a weekend family activity sometime soon! My son has a major sweet tooth so he would go nuts, but I feel like we would all enjoy that so much! It would give JJ a chance to make a mess and be creative!

Wear matching Christmas PJs

The other week, I was walking around in a store, and I saw the tackiest matching pajamas. I would love to go back and get them for my family, but I would not bank on my husband letting me take pictures! He thinks things like that are really cringy, but i think it’s fun and cute! We might have to meet in the middle on that one! Haha!

Make a Christmas craft

My toddler is really into drawing and coloring so I want to let him make some crafts that he can give to family members as presents! I think he would feel so excited to have gifts to give out that he made himself. I can even try making a craft with Diego’s tiny little feet too. I bet his grandmas would love that!

Read Christmas stories

I love to read to JJ at night before bed. I have started reading Christmas themed stories to get into the holiday spirit! I like to read stories about the nativity and about the act of giving. Teaching our kiddos about the true meaning of Christmas is super important.

Have a small Christmas party

I would love to host a small get together with our friends and their little families this season. There is still right many sicknesses going around so I will definitely be careful, but I feel like it would be so much fun to play games, eat, and hang out with friends!

That is all for this blog, but I really hope that I was able to help you get into the Christmas mood! Comment your favorite Christmas traditions down below! I would love to hear from all of you! Stay tuned for more blog posts soon, and stay merry! 😊

If you would like to listen to my podcast (Mama Katie Speaks) click here! I post podcasts weekly about motherhood, relationships and everything in between!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.