Categories
advice baby bath time Blog writing Breastfeeding Health Love Motherhood Uncategorized

Naturally Treating Cradle Cap

This week something happened that made me feel like a bad mommy. A small rash broke out on the very top of little man’s forehead, and I realized it kept going into his hair. Then I saw very big flakes of dry skin all bunched together. I googled it, and I saw quite a few pictures of babies with the same thing. It’s a common thing called Cradle Cap. It happens to about 70% of babies before the age of 3 months (according to google). I just felt bad because I had no idea how long he has had it because his hair was hiding it, and I didn’t even notice it.

*This photo is not mine. I just wanted to show what cradle cap looks like.*

I started treating it right away. I used two different methods. The first night, I got coconut oil and one drop of Copaiba essential oil, and I gently rubbed it through JJ’s hair. After about 20 minutes, I got his soft brush, and I started combing the flakes out. They started coming out easily. Then I washed his hair with gentle tear free baby shampoo. The next morning, it looked way better.

Last night, I decided to try something else. I warmed up my breastmilk a little bit, put JJ on a towel, and I poured it over his head and massaged it gently into his scalp. After 20 minutes, I rinsed it out with warm water, and I used the soft brush to comb through again. I decided not to use the shampoo again. This morning it looked even better than before. Not 100% better, but still an improvement for sure. Tonight, I used the breastmilk method again.

I liked using breastmilk as a treatment the best, but I might still use the oils for their benefits too. Hopefully he will continue to get better and better. I hope this blog was helpful to anyone going through this problem. ❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.