Categories
advice baby bath time Blog Blog writing Breastfeeding emotions Family Food friends Humor Inspirational Love New mom Shots Story Update writing

4 Month Shots

Yesterday my little sweetie turned 4 months old! It’s kinda funny because every time a month passes, my boyfriend and I will say, “Wow! It’s amazing that we kept a tiny human alive this long!” Hes been doing a few new things lately. He’s been rolling over, and grabbing his feet. He’s just really growing and getting a personality. He’s doing great!

This morning at 11:00am, we had to go to his 4 month checkup. I wasn’t excited because that means shots. I know he needs them, but shot day is never a fun day for baby or mommy. I felt extra bad because JJ woke up in such a great mood, and I knew that he wouldn’t stay in one much longer.

When we got to the his appointment, we got to go back right away. He is now 12 pounds and 12 ounces, and he’s 23 and a half inches long. The doctor said he looked perfect. He was impressed by how strong he is! He also said I could start JJ on cereal any time, but I think I will wait one more month since the doctor said he’s right on target. The only problem was that he said JJ had a big jump in his head growth, but they remeasured, and they said it was just fine. They accidentally measured it a little off.

Then they gave him shots. I don’t watch. I hold his hands, and I look at his face. I hate seeing his face change with pain. It hurts my heart. The doctors are amazing though. You have to do what you have to do. Afterwards, I nursed him in the room to calm him, and then we left.

After we left, I had to go pay a few bills. Then I went around the window at McDonald’s to grab myself a little lunch. When I got home, he was asleep in his car seat so I set the car seat next to me at the table, and I ate really quick before getting him out. When I got him out, I felt wetness on my arm. I looked down, and I saw that there was poop all over the floor, his car seat, the rug, him, and me!

I grabbed his changing pad, and I laid him on the floor. Then I ran to get his little bathtub. Baby wipes were not going to help me this time! I put his little bottom in the bathtub, and I washed him down! Then after the bath, I put him in his crib while I washed everything else.

After that little episode, he seemed pretty okay. I sat on the floor with him and we played. He smiled like normal, and I even made him laugh some! After a little while, I put him down for a nap, and I did my housework finally.

After he woke up, he wasn’t feeling good anymore. He started crying and being really fussy. Little man and mommy might have to stay in the rocking chair for a while this evening. I think Chinese take out sounds like an amazing option tonight because I don’t think this mama is going to cook. I’m just going to cuddle and love on little man until he feels like himself again.

2 replies on “4 Month Shots”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.